RSS Feed

Great Black Bean and Enchiladas Recipe

I know this isn’t really a Southern recipe but the Hispanic culture has become such a big part of our culture.  When I was growing up in the South, a Mexican restaurant was unheard of.  Now they are everywhere and some of them are so good.  We like to have Mexican food at home too and to add to the equation, my husband is a type II diabetic.  We have to be careful about what we eat.  Also, my brother in law had a heart attack this Spring and has adjusted his way of eating.

I thought of both of these people as I made this recipe this week.  It is so good and my husband loves it.  The concern I have for my brother in law is the canned diced tomatoes and canned black beans which are usually laced with sodium.  However, I think you can now purchase both of these sodium free and I hope that is true.  Another concern I have about the recipe is the flour tortillas but I do think they are available now without the trans fats.  When we got the diagnosis that my husband was type II diabetic, I could not believe how many things had sugar in them and that has really improved over time.

Here is the Black Bean Enchilada Casserole Recipe and I do believe Mexico is just a little farther South than we are.

1 green pepper chopped

1 medium onion chopped

1 to 2 garlic cloves minced (I only used 1)

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 (15 ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained

1 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes and green chilies

1/4 cup picante sauce

1 to 3 teaspoons of chili powder ( I only used 1/2 teaspoon this time and it was fine)  I would advise that you start with a small amount and add to it if necessary as 3 teaspoons will make the casserole very spicy!

1 teaspoon of ground cumin

1/4 teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes if desired ( Totally up to you as to how spicy you want your casserole)

8 (6 inch) flour tortillas, warmed

1 cup salsa

1 cup reduced fat shredded cheddar cheese ( I don’t like reduced fat cheese at all but I think it would be fine with the other flavors of this dish)

3 tablespoons chopped Fresh Cilantro Leaves

In a large nonstick skillet saute the green pepper, onion and garlic in the olive oil until tender.  Add the beans, tomatoes, picante sauce, chili powder, cumin and red pepper flakes if desired.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat, simmer, uncovered, until heated through and mixture thickens.  Add rice; cook 5 minutes longer or until heated thoroughly

Spoon a rounded 1/2 cup of the mixture down the center of each tortilla.  Fold sides over filling and roll up.  (I secured mine with a toothpick) Place in a 13 x 9 x 2 inch baking dish coated with nonstick cooking spray.  Spoon salsa over each tortilla.  Cover and bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes.  Uncover, sprinkle with cheese and cilantro.  Bake 2-3 minutes longer or until cheese is melted.

This is good with sour cream and a side salad of lettuce and tomato.

Leave a Reply

