RSS Feed

Fresh Blueberries and Good Neighbors

Over the weekend, I visited the local Farmers’s Market and purchased blueberries.  We are at the end of the fresh blueberry harvest in our area.  I have visited a local farm each year and purchased blueberries.  One day while walking through our neighborhood I realized one of our neighbors had blueberry bushes.  One day while I was passing by I mentioned that to him and he told me I could come down any time and pick all I wanted.  Time passed and it was so extremely hot here that I did not accept his offer.  I happened to see him in the yard the other morning while walking my dog and asked if I could come down and pick blueberries.  He told me his crop was almost over but he would be happy to share his picked blueberries with me.  He went inside and got me a quart of blueberries.  On Saturday I bought another pint of blueberries and I made a blueberry sauce for a topping for ice cream.

First of all, I am not a big fan of blueberries but I do like the fresh ones as they don’t taste so sharp or bitter.  My husband loves blueberries and I have learned to make this sauce as a topping for cakes or ice cream.  I do use Splenda in our sauce as my husband is diabetic.  It stores well in the refrigerator too.

Blueberry Sauce

2 cups fresh blueberries

1/3 cup of sugar or the equivalent of a sugar substitute such as Splenda

1 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Wash and crush the blueberries, add the sugar or sugar substitute, lemon juice and salt.  Mix well.  In a small saucepan, bring blueberry mixture to a boil; boil 1 minutes.  Add vanilla.  Chill.

And now another blueberry story:  As I said before, I visited a local blueberry farm in the past to purchase fresh berries.  One year, it just completed escaped my things to do list and I totally forgot to go by until after the season was at the very end.  I called the farm and told the lady my predicament.  She told me to come by and she would give me some of her blueberries that she had kept to use over the winter.  I told her I didn’t want to do that and she insisted and I went buy and purchased some of her personal berries.

Probably by that time in the season she was sick of blueberries but what a kind thing to do for someone.  I am thankful that I am enjoying fresh blueberries and great neighbors.

Leave a Reply

