RSS Feed

A Favorite Cake Recipe – Pound Cake

When I was preparing for our trip to our family reunion last weekend, I kept thinking of what dessert I wanted to prepare.  I thought of preparing something from my Mother or Grandmother’s favorites as it was their family reunion.  I decided I would use one of my favorite recipes.  I have shared this recipe with many people and it can be made into a pound cake, layer cake or sheet cake.  It was very popular at the reunion and I only had about 3 slices left when we returned.

I made the cake into layers and used lemon flavoring.  I iced the layers with cream cheese icing with lemon flavoring.  It has been a long time since I have made a layer cake but it turned out great.  I got this recipe from a lady that was a cake decorator.  I was taking a class from her and she said this was a solid cake that would not fall apart when you iced it.  I have made it many times and in many different ways.  The cake itself is delicious if you use almond flavoring and then use vanilla flavoring in the frosting

Cake –   From Cake Decorating

Preheat Over at 350 degrees for pound cake/325 degrees for a sheetcake/300 for layer cake

Mix together:   ½ cup Crisco, ½ cup margarine, 2 2/3 cups granulated sugar

Add:  5 eggs one at a time, beating after each addition.  Beat on moderate to high speed.  Must have whitish appearance

Sift together:  3 cups of flour

                     ½ teaspoon baking powder

                     pinch of salt.

and Set Aside

Reduce mixer speed to low or fold

Add:  flour alternately with one cup of milk beginning and ending with flour

Add one Tablespoon of vanilla, lemon or almond extract

Bake at 300 for layer pans

Bake at 350 for a tube pan

Bake at 325 for Sheet cake

I responded to a comment about length of time to bake in layers.  Actually, this cake is whitish in color and will not brown that much on top.  The best thing to do is the straw test or use your cake tester and when it comes clean when inserted in the middle of the cake, it will be done.  This is true for the tube pan or sheet cake.  I have baked the layers for 40 to 50 minutes depending on how my results were when I used my cake tester.

2 responses »

  1. This sounds delicious. How long do you bake the layers?

    Reply
    • This is a very dense cake – Sort of like me – I have baked the layers for 40 minutes and sometimes it has even been 50 minutes. The cake is whitish in color and will not brown that much on top and I just keep doing my straw test or use my cake tester until it comes clean in the middle. The same is true if you bake it as a pound cake or sheet cake.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

