RSS Feed

Crockpot Cherry Crisp Using Sugar Free Pie Filling

I love fresh fruit and enjoy using them in the summer.  About this time of the year, I can tell my enthusiasm is going away a little for the fresh fruit and I start thinking about fall.

Today, I saw this recipe and it is great for any time of the year. I like it because you can fix it and forget it and it is great with a scoop of sugar free vanilla ice cream.
Sugar Free Crockpot Cherry Crisp

1 can (21 oz) sugar free cherry pie filling

2/3 cup of brown sugar or the equivalent in a brown sugar substitute such as Splenda (I have made my own brown sugar substitute and in this recipe I would use 1/3 cup of brown sugar and 1/3 cup of regular granulated Splenda)

1/2 cup of quick-cooking oaks

1/2 cup of all purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon of vanilla and 1/2 teaspoon of almond flavoring

1/3 cup of butter, softened.

Lightly butter a 3 and 1/2 quart slow cooker/crock pot ( I did not have a 3 and 1/2 quart slow cooker pot so I went smaller and used a 2 quart slow cooker pot and it worked fine..  Place cherry pie filling in the slow cooker/Crock Pot.  Combine dry ingredients with vanilla and mix well; cut in butter with a pastry cutter or fork.  Sprinkle crumbs over the cherry pie filling.  Cook for 5 hours on low.

I enjoy making this at Christmas because of the red color.  Super easy!

Leave a Reply

