RSS Feed

Old CookBooks

 

I collect cookbooks.  I usually purchase them at yard sales and book sales.  I especially love the older cookbooks and they usually tell a story.  I was searching for a recipe a few days ago and decided to try some of my old cookbooks.  I was really surprised at how our cooking styles have changed.  I saw recipes for molded fruit salads and that isn’t something you see now.  There wasn’t that many recipes for salad dressings unless it was french dressing.  Do you remember that?  I think it was the first salad dressing I ever tasted.  I found no recipes that used balsamic vinegar and very few that recommended using olive oil.  There were very limited recipes for pasta or stir fry dishes.  The books I was looking at were published in the 80’s.

I do love to browse through the Williamsburg Cookbook that is on the left in the picture.  We have visited Williamsburg and eaten at the old Inns and Taverns.  As I was browsing through the cookbook, I saw a recipe for Williamsburg Inn Honey Dressing.  The first time I ever tasted Honey Mustard dressing was in Williamsburg and I thought it was the most wonderful thing ever.  In honor of that visit and the wonderful memories of Williamsburg, I will share that recipe with you:

Williamsburg Inn Honey Dressing  (Makes 1 3/4 cups)

1/2 cup viengar

1/4 cup sugar (I always use Splenda)

1/4 cup honey

1 teaspoon dry mustard

1 teaspoon paprika

1 teaspoon celery seed

1 teaspoon celery salt

1 teaspoon onion juice

1 cup vegetable oil

Mix the vinegar, sugar, honey, mustard and paprika together, boil 3 minutes and cool.  Add the celery seed and salt, onion juice, and vegetable oil and beat or shake vigorously.

Recommended to serve with any fruit salad.  If kept under refrigeration, shake well before using.

Leave a Reply

