RSS Feed

Apple Crumb Pie

I made an Apple Pie over the weekend and two people have asked me for the recipe.  The following post was in a previous blog I had online and I thought it was a great one to share during Apple picking season.  I hope you enjoy it and if you were one of my previous blog reader’s, I guess you would consider this a rerun.

This time of year I really like to make Apple Pie.  It just seems like the perfect choice with all of the apples that are available.  The strangest thing is probably the fact that I did not make apple pies for a long time.  The main reason is I don’t like to make crust.  If I see anything that makes it’s own crust I am all for it.

In 1989 Hurricane Hugo came through our area.  It did a lot of damage.  In our neighborhood lots of neighbors lost large trees.  So as there was no electricity or water after Hugo struck, we were able to help our neighbors with their downed trees.  We were fortunate not to have any damage to our home even though we lost some shingles off our roof.   We hauled away limbs, debri and the wood from the trees.

A week or so later one of our neighbors,  Gerri brought over an Apple Pie and said it was a thank you pie for our help with their Hugo damage.  I loved the pie so much and she told me you don’t have to make a crust.  So she shared her recipe with me.  She called it her Apple Crumb crust pie and I just think of it as our Hugo pie as that is what it relates to.

I made this last weekend and substituted Splenda for the sugar and Dale was happy as his favorite pie is a fruit pie. Here goes and I hope you enjoy it.  By the way, it was really a strange experience for me on Friday when I ran into Gerri and we had a nice parking lot visit.  What a great coincidence.

Apple Crumb Pie

4 large tart apples

l deep dish unbaked pie shell

1/2 cup of sugar or the Splenda baking/sugar  substitute of 1/4 cup of Splenda  (The orange package of Splenda for baking that is equivalent to 4 lbs. of sugar.

1 teaspoon of cinnamon

for the topping:

1/2 cup of sugar or Splenda/sugar  baking substitute of 1/4 cup

3/4 cup of flour

1/3 cup of butter or margarine

Pare Apples; slice and arrange in pie shell.  Mix 1/2 cup of sugar and cinnamon and sprinkle over apples

Stir 1/2 cup of sugar and 3/4 cup of flour;  cut in butter or margarine  until crumbly.  Sprinkle over apples.

Bake at 400 degrees for 40 to 50 minutes.

Yummy!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2 responses »

  1. Barbara Piekarski

    It truly was a delicious apple pie. Vince and I always enjoy dinner with you and Dale. You are such a good hostess and dessert is always great!

    I will definitely make one. Thanks for the recipe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

