RSS Feed

Helping Around The House

FIRST OF ALL, IF YOU ARE A REGULAR READER OF MY BLOG, I WANTED TO LET YOU KNOW THAT I DO INTEND TO ADD A NEW POST EVERY MONDAY, WEDNESDAY AND FRIDAY.  I AM NOW WORKING 30 HOURS A WEEK AND STILL LOVE ADDING POSTS TO MY BLOG.  HOWEVER, I WOULD RATHER DO THREE POSTS CONSISTENTLY EVERY WEEK AND HAVE MORE SUBSTANCE IN THEM THAN DO ONE FIVE DAYS A WEEK AND JUST ADD PICTURES OR HAVE VERY LITTLE CONTENT ON MY BLOG.  THANKS FOR READING MY BLOG.

If you read the first paragraph you know that I now work consistently for 30 hours a week.  My husband and I are semi-retired and as he only works about 18 hours a week, he is more retired at the moment than I am.  When we both worked 40 hour weeks, he helped me around the house.  Now he is helping me again.  I get home from work around 6:20 everyday and he has our meal prepared.  We have simpler meals but remember, he is diabetic and we have found, the simpler the better as far as he is concerned.

I still plan the meals and shop for the groceries.  I let him know everyday what we are having for that meal.  He can steam vegetables, grill meat, and as much as he doesn’t like the chore of making a salad.  If we are having a salad for our evening meal, I try to prepare the greens and vegetables before I leave.  If he is working that day, I leave a note with what he has to do for the meal.  It is working out well for us and I am very proud of him and appreciate him so much.

He hasn’t always helped me but I learned a valuable lesson when I sold Mary Kay Cosmetics.  Many of the National Sales Directors would get up and tell us how to get our husbands to help us around the house.  The first thing they told us was when our husbands did something around the house, even if they did not do it the way we did, do not belittle them.  Encourage them and live with the fact that the towels aren’t folded the way you fold them.  The world will not come to an end if they are folded differently and your husband made the effort to help.

Our expectations can be too high.  If I just told my husband to have a meal ready when I came home, he wouldn’t do anything.  He needs direction on what to fix and that might include more organization and planning on your part.  The reward is that you are ready to sit down and eat a prepared meal when you get home from work.

He does help me with other household chores but we decided which ones he would do for me.  He vacuums our floors and mops our bathroom and kitchen floors every week.  I gave him the option of doing what he wanted to do from the weekly chores and that is what he chose.  We use separate bathrooms and he also cleans his bathroom.

I do the laundry and iron any clothes that need to be ironed.  He will fold clothes and put them away if I leave him a note.  He will also make up the bed with the bed linens after I have washed them and they are in the dryer.

These are just ways I have found for my husband to help me.  I hope some of them work for you and it is good to have the meal ready when I get home and even better that I have some spare time to continue to post on my blog which is one of my favorite fun things to do.

One response »

  1. Separate bathrooms are great! I highly recommend them. This is the only advice I give to engaged couples…separate bathrooms!!!! People look at me like I am crazy when I say this, but if they will just try it, they will love it! Danny likes to vacuum too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

