RSS Feed

Beef Stew In The Crockpot

I am sharing a recipe I use for my crockpot and when I was an inexperienced cook, my go to item was cream of mushroom soup.  I still like to use this recipe for times when I want the meal to be ready when I get home.  I prepare this on Sunday a lot of times so lunch will be ready when we get home from church.  You can use the same ingredients for a beef roast.  I will change things up some and just add the mushroom soup and about 1/2 can of water and just have a good mushroom gravy.

Stew Beef or Beef Roast In the Crockpot

one pound of very lean beef stew or an approximately 2 to 3 pound beef roast

one envelope of onion soup mix

one can of cream of mushroom soup

one pound of potatoes

I have 3 sizes of crockpots for my cooker and I use the smallest one for this recipe.  If you only have one size, this will work fine in it also.  Place the stew beef or roast in the crockpot. Slice the potatoes and place them over the stew beef or around the roast. (I use my scale to weigh my potatoes and honestly one potato can weight a pound.)  Sprinkle the dry onion soup mix over it.  Add the one can of cream of mushroom soup to the pot and spread it around over the top of the roast or stew beef.  Put the lid on the pot.  If this meal is for lunch time, cook it on high for about four hours.  If this meal is for the dinner hour, cook on low for about 8 to 9 hours.

This makes a great gravy and you already have your potatoes cooked and ready to serve.  You only need a green vegetable for a side and your meal is ready.

You will probably think I am crazy, but the smell from this seems so homey and is one of my favorite comfort foods. I think if my family comes into my home and smells this, it really makes them think they are at a very familiar and comforting place.

2 responses »

  1. Barbara Piekarski

    I’m sure its great. My mother used to put a piece of round steak on aluminum and cover with French’s dry onion soup and then cover it with the can of mushroom soup. She folder over the aluminum to seal up the combination, then put it in the oven for an hour. This does smell delicious!

    I needed a crockpot recipe and this sounds like home.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

