RSS Feed

Meat Loaf For Two

I know one of the difficulties of cooking is cooking for just two people.  Some recipes are easy to divide and conquer and others take quite a while to master.  My husband likes meat loaf and my memory of meat loaf was my mother cooking it in tomato sauce and all you could actually taste was the tomato.  We have a small family and my daughter never really liked meat loaf anyway.  I have worked on making meat loaf for two people and it was what I made for Sunday lunch.

Originally I found a recipe similar to this on the back of a Quaker Oats Box and I worked with it until I came up with the following combination.

Meat Loaf for Two

1 pound of 80/20 ground beef

1/2 cup of oatmeal  ( I used the old fashioned but you could also use the quick cooking oats if that is what you have on hand)

1/4 cup of chopped onion

1/4 cup of chopped green pepper

1 egg

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon pepper

1 tablespoon of dried parsley flakes

Mix all of the above ingredients together.  I know the standard for meat loaf is to place it in a loaf pan and cook it.  I always place this on a 2 pan broiler type pan and place the loaf on the top part of the pan and let the grease drain off the meat and into the bottom pan.  I shape my meat into a loaf shape and it is juicy but not greasy.  You can double this recipe and serve four people.  Bake this in a 350 degree oven for approximately 45 minutes.  Remove from the oven and cover it with foil and let it rest for approximately 5 to 10 minutes.  Serve with tomato sauce on the side.

I like this combination because it adds some fiber to your diet with the oatmeal.  You are also adding some vegetables.  I always serve the tomato sauce with mine and I think that comes from the tomato sauce type meatloaf my Mother prepared.  My husband was so happy to have one of his favorite meals for lunch and he also has some leftover for a meat loaf sandwich sometime this week.

Leave a Reply

