RSS Feed

Old Salem and Pumpkin Muffins

Old Salem is a restored historical moravian village in Winston-Salem, NC.   I love visiting and seeing the old buildings and going to the tavern to eat and ending my visit at the bakery.  Old Salem is actually a minature Williamsburg Virginia.  It is amazing how peaceful it is even though it is in the city of Winston Salem.  When I visited the tavern for dinner recently, I had pumpkin muffins that I loved.  I had a family member to visit Old Salem later and she brought me some of the pumpkin muffins from the bakery.  They are very spicy and so moist and good.  The most amazing thing for me is the fact that I don’t even like pumpkins but I love the flavor of these muffins.Here is a link to the Old Salem Website:

http://www.oldsalem.org/

I found this recipe from Old Salem Pumpkin Muffins on the internet.  I made them this weekend.  Here is the link to the recipe:

http://www.epicureaders.com/recipe_0902_pumpkinmuffins.html

The above recipe calls for pumpkin spice and I try to substitute as much as I can with what I have on hand instead of buying lots of different spices.  I found this substitution for the pumpkin spice. Measure 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon into a small bowl – add 1/4 teaspoon of ground ginger – 1/8 teaspoon ground allspice or ground cloves.  -1/8 teaspoon of ground nutmeg.  stir to blend and this equals one teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice.

This will make 6 large muffins or 12 standard size muffins.  My husband was very thrilled with the muffins as he loves pumpkin and raisins.  I made mine with Splenda Baking substitute.  There is only a small amount of raisins in this and it is fine for a diabetic to have a small portion of raisins on occasion.  They did remind me of the Old Salem Muffins I loved so much and the only difference seemed to be that these muffins are lighter and not quite as spicy as the ones I ate at Old Salem.

Another benefit of these muffins is the fact that they make your house smell wonderful while they are baking.  Here is the picture of my finished product.

Leave a Reply

