RSS Feed

Country Style Vegetable Soup

For the past week my husband has been on his annual fishing trip to the South Carolina Coast.  I enjoy the time that I am here by myself but I am also glad when he returns from his trip.

On Saturday, I spent the day cooking and thoroughly enjoyed myself.  I know as you get older it isn’t good to isolate yourself but I also think it is good to just spend some time alone on occasion.  I spend every afternoon during the week with children and other adults.  I spend Sunday with my friends at church.

I was pondering over this situation with a co-worker the other day and she said there is nothing wrong with wanting to be alone.  She keeps her house fixed up so she will enjoy her time there.  I don’t have a fabulous home but I do enjoy the comfort of my home.  I also enjoy having a day to enjoy cooking.

I made potato soup, fried apple pies, apple cranberry casserole and vegetable soup.  After  a week of being away with his men friends, my husband is ready for a change of pace as far as food is concerned so I make a big pot of vegetable soup and usually have some left over for the freezer and another meal during the week.

My vegetable soup is old-fashioned southern style vegetable soup.  This is the way my Mother and Grandmother made vegetable soup.  You will not see any carrots in our soup.  This soup is made from vegetables that are grown in the South and carrots are not a prevalent crop of the Southern states.

Here we go:

Southern Style Country Vegetable Soup      

1 lb of hamburger or lean stew meat  (if desired)  this is my variation to the recipe even though I have made it without the meat and it was good

1 large can of crushed tomatoes (this is my variation on the recipe as my Mother and Grandmother would used home grown tomatoes or canned whole tomatoes)

1 16 oz can green beans, undrained

1 16 oz can whole kernel corn, undrained

1 16 oz can lima beans, undrained

3 medium size potatoes, peeled and cut into small pieces  (about 1 and 1/2 pounds)

1/4 head cabbage, cut into small pieces

2 cups water

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

1 teaspoon chili powder

1 tsp. cajun seasoning.

Brown hamburger and drain.  (If using stew beef, brown slightly in dutch oven and remove from dutch oven.  Add cabbage and potatoes with the two cups of water to the dutch oven and cook until tender.  Add all other ingredients including browned ground beef or stew beef and simmer for an hour.  Makes approximately 8 to 12 servings.

This can be adapted to your crockpot and you would still need to brown your stew beef  or hamburger first.  Add all ingredients to the crockpot and cook for four hours on high or 8 hours on low.

The crushed tomatoes flavors the soup well and makes the consistency similar to gravy. I served this to a friend once and they said it reminded them of their Grandmothers recipe and I considered that a great compliment.  This is a good recipe for a diabetic as it doesn’t contain many carbs and is satisfying.  I like to serve it with cornbread, of course.

Leave a Reply

