RSS Feed

Thankfulness, Turkey and Alton Brown

My favorite Holiday will be arriving soon.  I absolutely love Thanksgiving.  You don’t have the hustle and bustle that comes with Christmas but are still able to spend time with family and friends.  Has Thanksgiving changed?  Absolutely!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  We rush Christmas so much that it seems to blend in with that holiday now.

What do we cook for Thanksgiving in the South?  Turkey, Cornbread Dressing, Sweet Potato Pie, Pumpkin Pie, Pecan Pie, Collard greens or turnips, deviled eggs, green bean casserole and candied yams.

Growing up our family never had turkey or pumpkin pie as they really did not like it.  We always had chicken and I felt a little left out when I talked to my friends about the holiday.  It seemed to me just one time you could have turkey.  When I was older, my mother changed and started having turkey instead of chicken for some reason.

Many cooks are concerned about having enough food for everyone because they have huge family gatherings and some of us have very small families that live far away.  I am so thankful that last year my family was here for a visit and spent Thanksgiving with us.  However, this year it will be, me, my husband and a neighbor so I will be more concerned about cooking small amounts.

For many years, my husband and I visited Hilton Head Island, South Carolina every year for Thanksgiving.  We would take a long bicycle ride and stop and eat lunch usually at Cracker Barrel which has now closed on the Island.  I have many fond memories of those days and now we are starting another family tradition of being at home for Thanksgiving.  I am really excited about cooking the meal.

I thought it would only be appropriate at the beginning of the month to talk about Turkey.  There are so many different ways of cooking turkey so that it will not be dry and I was really challenged as to how I should present this.

And then, I got my monthly magazine from In Touch Ministries/Dr. Charles Stanley and there was an article by Alton Brown.  Alton Brown is a food personality from the Food Network and is a Southerner too.  I absolutely LOVE this article as Alton talks about our love for food and he expresses many of my concerns about how our meals and food experiences are changing.  When I think of Alton Brown and his knowledge, it is as if he memorized the entire Fannie Farmer Cookbook.  At the end of the article, he gives his recipe for cooking a turkey.  I trust him completely and wanted to share this article with you.

Here is the link to the article and I hope you enjoy it:   http://www.intouch.org/magazine/content/topic/the_miracle_of_food

I will continue to share with you my plans for Thanksgiving.  I love to decorate for a holiday and will have my Thanksgiving decorations out soon and will share pictures with you next week hopefully.

Leave a Reply

