RSS Feed

Thanksgiving Plans and Shopping Mistakes and Zuchinni

This is week two of planning for Thanksgiving.  I will make up my shopping list from the recipes and items I am planning for the big day.  Ina Garten suggested a spread sheet and I decided to use her method.  I think she uses a computer but I make my list up very quickly on a legal pad.  I turn the page to landscape and write across the top of the sheet the categories such as meat, dairy, vegetables, etc. I then list my recipes on the left and put the amount I need of each ingredient in the appropriate column.  After listing all of the items I am cooking, I make a grand total of the items needed to purchase and then I check my pantry and fridge to see if I have any of the items available.  During the last few weeks of grocery shopping I have purchased items that I knew I would need for Thanksgiving and Christmas. 

The first time I used this system was last year for my baking ingredients for Christmas and I was so happy that it worked for me so well.  I had enough margarine, eggs, etc as I had made my spread sheet for the different items I was baking.  This has been something in the past that I have never prepared for correctly and my sweet husband would have to make a quick dash to the store for me.

I will probably go to the store next Monday for most of the things I will be purchasing for Thanksgiving.  I will not include those purchases  in my weekly shopping trip as I don’t seem to concentrate as well on what I will need for Thanksgiving day and it seems I always forget things or buy the wrong thing.

That is exactly what I did this week when I went grocery shopping.  I always do my shopping on Wednesday morning and one of my most favorite places to shop is Aldi.  The store was just brimming with fresh fruits and vegetables.  I was looking at the signs posted above the produce and I saw where they had the seedless cucumbers available.  This isn’t something that is available all the time at Aldi and I had been wanting to try them.  When I found them, I was so excited and just could not believe how healthy and fresh they looked. 

I brought them home and put them in the fridge. Later in the day, I was taking them out of the package to put them in my vegetable crisper in my fridge and there as plain as day was the word, Zuchhinni.  I couldn’t believe it and asked my husband if that really was Zuchinni and he said yes that is exactly what that is. 

I was so disappointed and had a very busy weekend and kept debating on how to prepare the Zuchinni.  I really don’t like it that much unless it is cooked on the grill and that wasn’t an option this weekend.  I thought I would use the oven and roast it but I was broiling chicken for our Sunday meal so that wasn’t a good choice.  Finally, I decided to stir fry it.  Here is what I did:

Stir Fried Zuchinni

2 zuchinni sliced thinly and then cut in halves

2 tablespoons of good quality olive oil

3 cloves of garlic minced

1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

Heat the oil in a stir fry pan.  Add the zuchinni and garlic and cook and stir constantly on medium heat for about five minutes or until tender.  Remove from the heat and add 1/2 teaspoon of salt and 1/2 teaspoon of pepper.  Add parmesan cheese and serve immediately.

I do not usually like vegetables in the squash family but I really enjoyed this vegetable.  My husband is not a fan of stir fried vegetables but he enjoyed the Zuchinni.

I will look for the seedless cucumbers this week but I am really glad that I chose the Zuchinni by mistake.  This would be a good addition to a Thanksgiving meal and you could stir fry this vegetable while you are waiting on your bird to rest.

My Mother would laugh her head off to think I bought Zuchinni when I thought I was buying cucumber.  And then again, being Southern, I don’t think my Mother ever bought Zuchinni.

Leave a Reply

