RSS Feed

Mrs. Wilkes Chocolate Pecan Pie – My Choice For Thanksgiving

I started shopping yesterday for the ingredients in our Thanksgiving meal.  I will complete my shopping this morning before I go to work and I don’t know how this traditiion has developed,  but my husband will purchase the Oven Roaster Fresh Hen tomorrow. 

I have been debating for about a week now on whether I want to have Key Lime Pie or Pecan Pie for Thanksgiving.  I have finally decided on Pecan Pie and only because I saw this recipe in my Mrs. Wilkes cookbook, Famous Recipes.  It includes chocolate chips and I love chocolate so much that I think it should be included in the meal.

As I have mentiioned before, I will include recipes on this blog that I have tried or want to try.  This is one of the “I Want to try” recipes and I will share a picture later in the week after I have baked the pie.

Chocolate Pecan Pie

2/3 cup evaporated milk

2 tbsp.  butter

12 oz.  semi-sweet chocolate chips

2 eggs

1 cup light corn syrup

2 tbsp. flour

1/4 tsp.  salt

1 cup pecan halves

1 tsp. vanilla

1 9″ unbaked pie shell  ( I haven’t mastered making my own pie crust and I purchase the ones that are refrigerated and in the dairy section)

Place milk, butter and chocolate in pan.  Stir over low heat until melted.  Mix eggs, syrup, flour and salt.  Add to first ingredients.  Stir in pecans and vanilla.  Bake at 375 degrees for about 45 minutes.

Doesn’t this sound easy and I can’t wait to try it.  Mrs. Wilkes has never failed me and I have visited Savannah and eaten at her Boarding House every year for many years during Thanksgiving week.  Because of those happy memories, it is only appropriate that I would use one of her recipes on Thanksgiving Day.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Today I Am Pondering Pies For Thanksgiving | So Does That Mean I'm SOUTHERN?

Leave a Reply

