RSS Feed

Potato Salad and Deviled Eggs

This is my final post before Thanksgiving Day.  I have truly enjoyed sharing some of my Southern traditions with you.  May you, your family and friends have a Happy Thanksgiving.

On Thanksgiving Day I will post pictures of the dishes I have made for Thanksgiving.  I know I will be tired,  as this is a very tiring  job, but I cook from my heart with love.  I know this is true of Awesome cooks in this country and all over the world. 

There are so many different versions of potato salad in the South.  Some cooks cream their potatoes and add onion and pickles to it.  Some cooks cube their potatoes and add mustard and mayonaise to their salad.  After experiementing over time, I am sharing with you my favorite Potato Salad recipe.  I have not made this in the past for Thanksgiving as I am the only one that REALLY likes it but what can I say.  The cook should prepare at least one of her favorites for Thanksgiving too.

Potato Salad

4 cups of diced white potatoes

1 medium size jar of pimento drained

1/2 of an onion chopped very fine

1 tablespoon of celery seeds

approximately 1/2 cup of mayonnaise  (This is something you have to experiment with)

1/2 of a chopped bell pepper

1/4 cup of sour cream

Boil potatoes in water until firm.  Cool and chill overnight if possible.  Cut into cubes and add additional ingredients.  It is great if you can make this ahead of time and let it set for at least eight hours but it is even more flavorful if it is chilled overnight.

I posted my Deviled Egg recipe earlier in the summer but I have posted it again for you for Thanksgiving.

Deviled Eggs

9 Hard Boiled Eggs – Most devil egg plates come with a space for 12 halves of eggs so I boil extra just in case I can’t get one of my eggs to peel correctly

1 and 1/2 teaspoons of vinegar

1 tablespoon mustard

2 to 3 tablespoons of mayo

1 tablespoon of sour cream

1/2 teaspoon of salt

1/4 teaspoon of pepper

Cook, cool and peel hard boiled eggs.  Cut in half lengthwise and scoop out the yolk (yellow) of the egg.  Mix the mashed yellow of the egg with the above ingredients and put them back in the white reserved egg halves.

I usually use a fork to stuff the yellow back into the white of the egg.  I then smooth it with a knife.

The deviled eggs are tastier if you chill them in the fridge for four to eight hours before serving.

If you are asking how to prepare hard cooked eggs, this is the process I use and it works every time.

Place eggs in pan and cover with cold water.

Bring water to a rolling boil; immediately turn off heat.  (don’t let the eggs continue to boil and I usually set them off the hot burner)

Let eggs stand in hot water for 14 minutes if small or 17 minutes if extra large

Drain eggs and cool in ice water.  I have learned to peel the eggs quickly when they are cool.  If you start at the rounded top of the egg and break that membrane the eggs will peel smoothly.  If you are having difficulty, make a small break in the membrane and continue to dip them in the cooled water.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving Dishes – Old or New « So Does That Mean I'm SOUTHERN?

  2. Pingback: Red Potato Salad For A Crowd | So Does That Mean I'm SOUTHERN?

  3. Pingback: On This Thankfulness Thursday Broccoli Salad, Potato Salad or Deviled Eggs | So Does That Mean I'm SOUTHERN?

Leave a Reply

