RSS Feed

Date Nut Fingers Or Balls

As I was growing up in the South, my mother would incorporate dates into her fruit cakes.  That is the only time of the year that I remember seeing or hearing about dates.  I do like the flavor of them.  And yes, I do like fruit cake.  Some of it isn’t near the type of fruitcake that I grew up eating.  Do you have an old-fashioned fruit cake recipe you would like to share?

This recipe is another story.  I do not even know where I got this recipe but I have had it for about 20 years.  I invited some friends over and served these and saw that one of my friends had become emotional and had tears in her eyes.  She said that her grandmother made these every year and had recently passed away.  She had failed to get the recipe from her grandmother and had wanted to make these. 

Of course, I shared the recpe with her and was very glad she could continue with her family tradition.  So that is a good lesson for all of us.  If there is a recipe in your family that you enjoy, by all means, get that recipe and keep it.  Even if you never prepare the recipe, you are continuing the family tradition and can pass it on to others in the family.

Date Nut Fingers

1/4 lb butter or margarine

1 cup sugar

1 (8 oz. box plain dates, chopped fine)

1 egg

1/2 cup chopped nuts

2 cups rice krispies

1 can coconut

1 teaspoon vanilla

Melt butter, add sugar, beaten egg and dates.

Cook for a few minutes, until the dates soften.  Remove from heat.  Add vanilla, nuts and rice krispies.

Cool slightly, Shape into fingers or balls.  Roll in coconut.

Leave a Reply

