RSS Feed

Red Velvet Cake – With Traditional Icing

In the South, red velvet cake is very popular this time of year.  I have seen it in all shapes, sizes and varieties.  Last year, Southern Living Magazine had a recipe for a red velvet cheesecake and I made it for Christmas.  It wasn’t as good as the cake which I have made in the past.  On Monday, our daycare center served lunch to the staff and the caterer had red velvet cake with white chocolate icing.  It was delicious.

At the beginning of our marriage, I was collecting recipes that were traditions in my family.  My Mother made red velvet cake every year and I wanted the recipe.  I was doing my grocery shopping one day and saw a little recipe card beside the Sauer’s Food Coloring display and it was a recipe for red velvet cake.  My mother confirmed for me that it was the same recipe.  I still have the card which is probably now about 40 years old and it is my idea of red velvet cake.

There has been a trend recently to ice red velvet cake with cream cheese icing.  I have used the cream cheese icing when I have made red velvet cupcakes; however, I only use the frosting recipe I am sharing with you for my red velvet cake.  It is a little more complicated but worth it.  Sometimes the cream cheese icing can be so sweet that it over powers the cake.

This is a beautiful cake for Christmas with the red layers, white frosting and then garnished with coconut.  Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!

Red Velvet Cake:

1 1/2 cups sugar

1/2 cup shortening

2 eggs

2 oz. Red Food Coloring

2 tbsp. cocoa

2 and 1/4 cups sifted flour

1 scant tsp. salt

1 cup buttermilk

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp soda

1 tbsp.  vinegar

1 tsp. butter flavoring

Cream sugar and shortening; add eggs and blend.

Make a paste with food coloring and cocoa and add to mixture

Alternately add flour, salt, buttermilk and vanilla

Mix soda and vinegar in small bowl and add to batter.

Add butter flavor and blend

Bake in two 8″ greased and floured pans for 30 minutes at 350 degrees

Frosting:

3 tbsp.  flour

1/2 tsp. salt

1 cup milk

1 cup margarine

1 cup sugar

2 tsp vanilla

shredded coconut

Blend flour, salt and  milk simmer until thick, stirring constantly.  LET COOL COMPLETELY

Cream margarine, sugar, vanilla and mix well with above.

Frost top and between layers and then outsides of cake.  Add shredded coconut to frosting after cake is iced.  You may add coconut only to the top of the cake but it really looks festive when used all over the cake.

Here is a cream cheese frosting that is an option for your cake if you prefer it.:

Beat 1 package (8 oz) cream cheese, 4 tbsp. softened butter, 2 tbsp. sour cream and 2 tsp.  vanilla in large bowl until fluffy.  Gradually beat in 1 box (16 oz.) confectioners sugar on medium speed until smooth.  Ice cake or cupcakes and garnish with coconut if desired.

Does it mean that I am Southern because I love the traditional Red Velvet Cake?  I certainly hope so.  Happy baking everyone.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Three Great Cake Choices For Christmas | So Does That Mean I'm SOUTHERN?

Leave a Reply

