RSS Feed

Barbecued Franks – An Easy Recipe

After my post yesterday, I thought I would share an easy recipe with you.  This is a favorite in our family and I have been making these franks for about 20 years. This is one of the very few recipes that I can make without looking up the ingredients.  It is best to use the regular franks for this recipe as I tried it one time with the low fat franks and they did not have a good texture.

1 small jar of prepared yellow mustard (  as the sizes of mustard has changed, I use 6 ounces of mustard)

1 small jar currant jelly ( if you cannot find currant jelly, you may use grape jelly and I use 8 ounces of jelly)

mix the above ingredients together in  a crockpot

Add one pound of franks that have been cut into bite size pieces ( I cut each frank into four pieces)

Let cook in crockpot for about 4 hours on high.  They can be cooked on low for a longer period of time; however, you need to continue to check them as they will become tough if cooked too long.

2 responses »

  1. I remember getting this recipe from a magazine back in the 1970’s. I haven’t made it in years. Thanks for reminding me. I had gotten a crock pot for a Xmas present back then. I had my own home made jelly but I did start out buy current and then switched to my own. I think the recipe was for little party size hot dogs but I haven’t seen them in years. Remember the little jars of Frenches mustard that had the onion in them. I would use that too sometimes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

