RSS Feed

Funeral Food In the South – My Dish is Always Green Bean Casserole

It is a tradition in the South to furnish food for a bereaved family at a time of loss.  Being on the receiving end of that tradition from time to time has been helpful for me in the past and I want to pass this act of kindness on to others.

My staple for the funeral committee at our church is Green Bean Casserole.  We rotate the committee members throughout the year and I am usually making a funeral dish in January or February.  I keep the ingredients in my pantry and when I am notified that I need to bring a dish, I know I have the items available. I also made this dish for Christmas Dinner.  My neighbor brought this dish for our Thanksgiving meal and used fresh green beans.  I enjoyed it and plan to try to incorporate fresh green beans in the recipe soon.

This recipe is the original green bean casserole I clipped from a magazine years ago.

Green Bean Casserole

2 cans ( l lb each) cut green beans, drained or 2 pkg (9 oz each) frozen cut green beans, cooked and drained

3/4 cup milk

1 can  (10 3/4 oz) condensed cream of mushroom soup

1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper

1 can  (2.8 ounce) French Fried Onions.

Combine beans, milk, soup, pepper and 1/2 can Fried Onions.  Pour into one and one half quart casserole dish.  Bake uncovered at 350 degees for 30 minutes or until heated through.  Top with remaining onions, bake, uncovered 5 minutes or until onions are golden brown.  Makes 6 servings.

I am always amazed at how everyone has different ideas when sharing a covered dish meal and you end up with such a delicious variety of options to share.

Leave a Reply

