RSS Feed

Recipes Shared By A Friend

This week I am going to share recipes from a friend.  Her mother was a great Southern cook that lived in the foothills of North Carolina.  My mother was a great Southern cook that lived in the sandhills of North Carolina.  I was so thrilled when I was able to look through her mothers recipes with her and extremely happy that she is sharing them with us.  I know you are going to just love them and I am so happy that I am sharing a part of our Southern tradition and a wonderful cook.  (P.S. She must have been a wonderful Mom too because she has a great daughter.)

The first paragraph is the introduction to the recipes from my friend.  What a wonderful idea to make a small recipe book of family favorites for your friends.  It makes me want to go make one for my granddaughter.

In 1984 I really got into using the computer for word processing, databases, and spreadsheets.  At that time, I also realized that I wanted to be sure to get copies of my mother’s best recipes.  It was great that she and I worked on this project and the outcome was a small recipe book of our favorite family recipes with personal comments.  I shared copies of it with my brothers and other close relatives.

My mother had 6 sisters and every time they met in Lincolnton on Sunday afternoons, they would share recipes.  Here are a few of our family favorites.

Barbequed Chicken

6 -8 pieces of chicken

¼ cup ketchup

¼ cup butter

¼ cup lemon juice

2 Tablespoons Worchestershire Sauce

Melt butter, stir in ketchup, lemon juice, and Worchestershire Sauce.  Bring the mixture to a boil.  Arrange the chicken in a pan, salt and pepper and pour sauce mixture over the chicken.

Bake one hour in the oven at 350 degrees

Usually after 50 minutes, it begins to smell good.  I would open the oven and flip the chicken pieces to make sure it was absorbing the sauce.

This was truly a standard from back in the 70’s.  I often made it for my children in a crock pot.  The juices are finger lickin’ good.

Leave a Reply

