RSS Feed

More Great Recipes From A Friend

If you saw my post on Monday, this week I am featuring recipes shared by a friend.  They are recipes from her Mother that was a great Southern cook with my friend’s comments about the recipes..  Today I am sharing two salad recipes with you that I have never seen before.  However, as I grew up in a different region of North Carolina, this is a great possibility.

I am excited about trying these recipes and the comments are from my friend.  I will continue to highlight these recipes in all of my posts this week.

Scandinavian Salad

This is a colorful sweet side salad to take to covered dish meals and eat like a relish with meat.

1 can small green peas

1 can French style green beans

1 small stalk of diced celery

1 large diced onion

1 2 oz jar of diced pimento

1 cup oil

1 cup sugar

1 cup vinegar

2 tablespoons water

½ tsp paprika

Drain and mix the first ingredients.  Measure the hext ingredients in a jar and shake well.  Pour the liquids over the vegetables and let stand in the refrigerator 24 hours.  Drain the liquid from the salad before serving.

As an adult, I was horrified at the amount of sugar when I made this and tried reducing it and still maintaining the sweet pickle taste.

Blueberry Salad

(Always a hit with men)

6 0z of grape Jello

2 cups boiling water

1 can blueberry pie filling

1 can pineapple topping

1 8 oz pk of cream cheese

1 8 oz sour cream

½ cup sugar

Mix and congeal first four ingredients.  Combine the remaining ingredients  and smooth on top of the jello mix.  Refrigerate until ready to eat.

Thanks Again Friend!

Leave a Reply

