RSS Feed

Barbecued Pork Chop Skillet

My family loves Pork Chops and we buy ours in bulk from Sam’s Club.  I do like the ones with the bone as they seem to have more flavor.  I have never been that creative in making pork chops.  We like to grill them and we like to cook them on our George Foreman grill too.  I discovered the recipe I am sharing with you today and I like it because it has peppers and onions.  I usually use bottled barbecue sauce unless I have some homemade available to use.  It is one of those dishes that just makes your home smell warm and inviting.

Barbecue Pork Chop Skillet

(I am presenting the recipe the way it can be prepared conventionally on the stove.  However, my husband has grilled the chops on the grill, I have cooked the onion and bell pepper on the stove in the oil and added the barbecue sauce to my mixture.  He will then bring the chops in and we will place them in the sauce combination for a couple of minutes to combine all of the ingredients.

4 center cut, bone in pork chops,  about 1 pound

1 tsp of vegetable oil or olive oil

1 onion, sliced

1 bell pepper, sliced

1/2 cup of bottled barbecue sauce

Brown chops in oil in large skillet on medium heat 5 minutes on each side.  remove from skillet; keep warm.

Add onion and pepper to skillet; cook and stir 5 minutes.  add barbecue sauce

Bring to a simmer. Return chops to skillet; spoon sauce over top.  Simmer 3 to 5 minutes or until heated through, turning chops once.  Makes 4 servings,  l chop and 1/4 cup sauce mixture for each.

Good sides for this is whole grain brown rice and a green vegetable in addition to the onion and peppers prepared with the sauce.

This is an easy recipe to make and has the great southern favorite word in it  “Barbecue.”

Leave a Reply

