RSS Feed

Spring and Strawberries

Today, I am sharing pictures of daffodills and pansies growing in my front yard.  The daffodills are the yellow flowers and just started blooming during the past week.

The pansies are in the pot and have been growing since last fall when I planted them.  I always enjoy seeing them as they are the first blooms of the season and when the heat returns to the South, they will die out and go away.

I also want to share an easy strawberry recipe with you today.  Over the weekend, my husband and I took a road trip to Winston-Salem and visited Whole Foods.  They had strawberries on sale and I purchased some.  I decided to make an instant vanilla pudding and top them with the strawberries.  We have some balsamic vinegar we bought from our Crushed Olive Store in Hickory and I made balsamic strawberries.  They are easy to make and I adapted them from one of my Ina Garten recipe books.

Balsamic Strawberries

2 cups of sliced fresh strawberries

1/2 tablespoon of balsamic vinegar

1 teaspoon of splenda or sugar

1/4 teaspoon of black pepper

Thirty minutes to an hour before serving, combine the strawberries, balsamic vinegar, sugar and pepper.  Set aside at room temperature.  When ready to serve, prepare the instant pudding as directed and add the strawberries.

This is so good and flavorful.  I don’t know why the black pepper is such a great addition but it is.

We are enjoying our early Spring weather and now we are enjoying our strawberries.

Leave a Reply

