RSS Feed

Bloggers and Biscuits

When I started this blog a few months ago, I thought my readers would be people living in the Southern US.  My Southern sisters encouraged me to start this blog as they realized many of our traditions are slipping away.  I am thankful for those Southern sisters but when I read my subscriber list it amazes me as to where you are and that you could even find my blog.  Keeping that in mind, I plan to become more wordly in my posts.  My goal is and always will be to write about Southern traditions especially food traditions.  However, I will not assume you can run down the street to the local grocery store and purchase Pillsbury frozen biscuits.  The irony of my small thinking is that my daughter and her family live outside the US and I know there are products she cannot find in that country.

Taking all of these thoughts  into consideration, I want to share a biscuit recipe today.  I have made biscuits from scratch in the past and they turned out well.  I never had the talent for preparing them that my mother and grandmother had.  However, I think with practice of making the biscuits every day you get the feel for the process and they turn out great just about all the time.  I will probably continue to use the Pillsbury frozen biscuits because they work for me and I have portion control for my diabetic husband too.  The recipe I am sharing today is from one of those wonderful church cookbooks that I have shared with you before.  It sounds very traditional to the Southern way of preparing biscuits.

Biscuits – Submitted by Sallie Hollar – St. Stephens Lutheran Cookbook-1984

2 cups self-rising flour

3 ounces of shortening (crisco is recommended, if available)

1 and 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 and 1/2 tsp. sugar

1 cup buttermilk

Blend flour, sugar and baking powder.  Mix in shortening.  Add buttermilk.  Roll out on floured board.  Bake at 475 degrees for 12-15 minutes.

My Mother and Grandmother always mixed this dough by hand and then would pinch some of the dough,  roll it into a ball in their hand and then flaten it and place it in the pan.  Of course you can roll the dough and cut with a biscuit cutter.

Thanks to everyone that has subscribed to my blog and I enjoy sharing my experiences with you.  I do enjoy reading your blogs too.  Happy Weekend Everyone!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

