RSS Feed

Lima Beans

The past weekend was extremely busy for me.  I prepared my income taxes on Saturday and that is a major accomplishment here in the US.  At the same time, I am preparing to take my mid-term Child Care Credentials exam on Friday.  In all honesty, I totally forgot my Monday post.  However, it was in my mind the whole time.

One of my new years resolutions was to eat more beans and to experiment with different types of beans.  Last week, I prepared the cube steak in the crockpot and shared that recipe with you.  However, as you can see above, I served the steak with lima beans.  They were so good and I enjoyed the leftovers in a meal on grocery shopping day which is usually Wednesday at our house.  For our meal on grocery shopping day, we have leftovers.  My husband is fine with that and we can pick and chose from the leftovers for our meal.  My first choice was the lima beans.

This is how I prepared them.

Lima Beans

1 package of frozen lima beans  ( I love the Pict-Sweet brand that is available here in the US)

Place the above in a saucepan on the stove and cover them with water.  Let them come to a boil and cook them for about two minutes.  Lower the temperature to simmer and cook for approximately 45 minutes.

When the beans are tender and ready to be served add:

1 teaspoon of olive oil

1/2 to 1 teaspoon of salt  (This is a personal preference and I am trying to reduce my sodium intake so I used 1/2 teaspoon)

1/2 teaspoon of black pepper (this makes such a difference in the taste and enhances the flavor of the beans)

I let the beans rest on the stove for about 5 minutes before I put them into the serving dish for our meal.

We enjoyed them and I am so pleased with frozen beans and the many varieties available in our grocery stores.  When they are flash frozen they retain all their nutrients and it is faster as far as preparation is concerned because we don’t have to shell them.

I will continue to share my experiences with beans throughout the year.  If I eat the healthy beans, then doesn’t that mean I can experience some of the wonderful Southern Goodies?

Leave a Reply

