RSS Feed

Broccoli With Cheese – But Not The Southern Classic

Broccoli is one of my favorite vegetables.  It is not a vegetable I remember from growing up in the Southern South.  I think that is because Southerners grow a lot of their food and broccoli wasn’t a vegetable that I remember from anyones garden.  Later in life, broccoli with cheese sauce became a favorite all over the South.  Thinking back now, I remember that as being broccoli and most of the time it was frozen.  It was cooked and drained and then covered with a cheese sauce usually made out of Campbell’s Cheddar Cheese Soup.  That is exactly how I prepared my Broccoli with Cheese Sauce in the 80’s and 90’s.

However, I started steaming my broccoli in a vegetable steamer in the late 90’s and I like the flavor and texture of it much better.  Then I started to realize I thought the steamer was cumbersome.  I used an electric steamer and I also used a colander in a pot of boiling water on the stovetop and I kept thinking there just had to be an easier way.

With testing and trials, I have found a quicker way to make the steamed broccoli with the addition of cheese.  We had it for lunch yesterday and I wanted to share it with you.  I also want to let you know that I am not a fan of frozen broccoli.  It just seems squishy to me and I don’t like that texture.

Broccoli with Three Types of Cheese

Two crowns of broccoli cut into smaller pieces

Mozzarella Cheese/Asiago Cheese/Parmesan Cheese

I placed the broccoli in a microwave safe dish with just enough water to cover the bottom of the pan.  I covered the dish and cooked it on high in the microwave for 10 minutes.  (this gives me the same results as the steamer and I can use this as the serving dish)

I removed the broccoli from the microwave and drained it and returned it to the serving dish.  I took my cheese grater and grated approximately 1/4 cup of Parmesan Cheese over the top of the broccoli.  Then I grated a small amount of the asiago cheese on the broccoli.  (Asiago has such a strong flavor that only a small amount is needed)  I had about an ounce of mozzarella cheese in the fridge and I grated it over the broccoli too.

I placed the dish back in the microwave for about 20 seconds to melt the cheese.

My husband and I ate all of the broccoli for lunch as it was so tasty.  I did not season the broccoli with salt or pepper and could not tell the difference.

If you are looking for an easy way to make Broccoli With Cheese, I think you will enjoy this recipe.  You can experiment with different cheeses and find the flavor combination that you like best.

This isn’t close to the Southern Classic that I enjoy eating sometimes but it is a good quick way of preparing broccoli without needing any type of extra equipment.

One response »

Leave a Reply

