RSS Feed

Carrot Cake – A Springtime Tradition

When I was growing up, I never heard of carrot cake.  It has been alive and well in the South for a very long time; however, it wasn’t a cake that I was exposed to. When I moved to the big time city of Charlotte, NC, I remember having my first slice of carrot cake.  After my marriage, I wanted to experiment with so many different recipes and I found this recipe for traditional carrot cake.  I have used different recipes for carrot cake that have included raisins or pineapple in the batter.  However, this is still my favorite recipe.  If there is any challenge for me in this recipe it would be peeling the carrots.  I do not like to peel anything but if my reward is carrot cake then I can deal with it.

In the Spring, I start thinking about the recipe and carrot cake.  Many times we have enjoyed this for our Easter meal and it has been a request from my daughter for her birthday which is in March.  I like this recipe because flavors do not compete and it is a sheet cake that makes icing easier.

Carrot Cake With Cream Cheese Frosting

2 and 1/4 cups all purpose flour

1 and 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

2 and 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

1 teaspoon salt

4 eggs

2 cups sugar

1 and 1/2 cups grated carrots (about 3 large)

1 and 1/2 cups of vegetable oil

Mix flour, cinnamon, soda and salt; set aside.  In large bowl of mixer beat eggs with sugar until fluffy and lemon colored.  Add carrots and oil and mix well.  Add flour mixture and stir to mix well.  Pour into greased 13 x 9 x 2 inch pan and bake in preheated 350 degree oven 45 minutes or until pick inserted in center comes out clean.  Cool in pan on rack, then spread with frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting

Note:  I like this recipe as it is a very smooth cream cheese frosting that isn’t exceptionally sweet and does not overpower the flavor of the cake.

Beat together:

1 package (3 ounces) softened cream cheese and

1/4 cup softened butter or margarine.

Add:

2 and 1/4 cups confectioners sugar and

1 teaspoon grated lemon peel

Beat until of spreading consistency

I absolutely do not know the origin of Carrot Cake but I am sure there are many great Southern cooks that have made it a Southern tradition for their families.

Leave a Reply

