RSS Feed

Deviled Crab – From The Woman’s Club of King and Queen County

In my post on Monday, I told you about the cookbook I purchased at a yard sale over the weekend.  I am featuring recipes from the cookbook and this one I am sharing with you today seemed appropriate as I have never posted a seafood recipe on my blog.  I do not like seafood and I have tried so hard to like it.  This recipe appealed to me and I have been searching for a deviled crab recipe that my husband would like.  I think he would approve of this one as it doesn’t have a lot of bread in the mixture.

Deviled Crab

2 slices of toasted bread, crumbled.  Cover with enough water to soften.

2 eggs beaten until well mixed.

Add:

1/2 lb. melted butter

1 Tablespon prepared mustard

1 teaspoon Lea and Perrin Worcestershire Sauce

1/2 t.  salt

Bread crumbs from the toasted bread listed above  (press out water)

4 heaping tablespoons mayonnaise

Blend into l lb. crab meat.  Put in crab shells or aluminum shells.  Top with buttered bread crumbs.  bake in 350 degree oven 30 minutes or until firm and top is brown.

This recipe was submitted by Mrs. Ralph (Kathleen) Cottle

I have tasted Deviled Crab one time when we were visiting Hilton Head Island, South Carolina.  We took a tour of Danfuskie Island which is reachable by ferry from Hilton Head Island.  Our tour guide that day was a man named Lawrence and he had Deviled Crab he was selling that his wife had prepared that morning.  My husband has always said it is the best Deviled Crab he has ever eaten.  I did taste it and thought it was good.  Amazingly, some years later, I was reading my Southern Living Magazine and there was a featured article about Lawrence and his wife’s FAMOUS Deviled Crab.

Leave a Reply

