RSS Feed

Jello Pound Cake

As I was browsing through my yard sale find cookbook last weekend, I found this recipe.  When I was first married, this is the recipe I used to make a pound cake.  It was so easy to make and people always gave me compliments when I shared it with them.  My Mother starting using this recipe when I was at home and she would change the flavors of the jello which would give the cake different swirls of color.  As I read this, it brought back many family memories for me.

Jello Pound Cake

1 pkg. Duncan Hines yellow cake mix

4 eggs

1 pkg. orange or lemon Jello

2/3 cup salad oil

1 cup buttermilk

Put all ingredients in large bowl and beat at medium speeed 3 minutes with mixer. Bake in greased and floured tube pan 1 hour and 15 minutes at 325 degrees

Cool in pan for 10 minutes.  Remove and cover with glaze while hot.

GLAZE:  1 and 1/2 cups of powdered sugar combined with juice from one and one half lemons, finely grated rind of one lemon and a dash of salt.

NOTE;  This cake is good with instant vanilla pudding or any variation you may choose.

Submitted by Mrs. Carl P. (Elizabeth) Ramsey

As you can see, if you are looking for an easy recipe for the weekend, this would be a good choice.

Leave a Reply

