RSS Feed

Cheesecake – Just Let It Be

Recently, I have been very busy and not able to cook as much as I like to.  Over the Easter holiday I had some free time to cook and decided I wanted to do something that was challenging.  At the same time, I have been feeling a warm breeze and thinking about the beach.  Combining the two, I started browsing my Island Events Cookbook from Hilton Head Island, South Carolina.  I happened upon a cheesecake recipe and it is a New York Style Cheesecake and I have been told by some of my yankee friends that it is the only cheesecake that is real and official.  So, I decided I would make it for our Easter dessert.  It turned out great and my husband has enjoyed it so much.  This also confirms for me that we should all be open minded in considering all the recipes that are available to experiment with.

As you can see, it turned out beautifully and this was the easiest and best graham cracker crust I have ever made.  I do plan to use this recipe again and again and I substituted Splenda for the sugar and it still turned out great.

Here is the recipe and thanks to Andy for sharing it with us:

Andy’s Famous New York Style Cheesecake

Filling:

2 lbs cream cheese

1 and 1/4 cup of sugar

1 teaspoon of grated lemon peel

pinch of salt

2 eggs

1 tbsp. vanilla

3 tbsp. corn starch

2 cups of sour cream

CRUST:

2 cups graham cracker crumbs

2 tbsp. sugar

1/2 cup butter, melted

For Crust:  Combine graham cracker crumbs, sugar, and melted butter in a bowl and mix well by hand.  Take mixture and put in bottom and up the side of a spring form pan.  Chill in the freezer while mixing ingredients for pie.  (I used my hands to press and form this to the pan and it worked so well.)

Filling:  Mix the cheese and sugar together first, then add the other ingredients mixing well but not so much as to make it thin.  Cook at 450 degrees for about 10 minutes then 200 degrees for 45 minutes then turn oven off.  Crack open door and let it be for 3 hours.  Refrigerate after it cools.

I loved the way this recipe is written and it did work with just adding all the other ingredients to the cheese and sugar in the filling.  It was so simple, it was a little scary.  I think I will always refer to this as my just let it be Cheesecake because I had never read that phrase in a recipe.  Sometimes as cooks, all we have to do is “just let it be.”

Do I think this is the official Cheesecake?  I have to admit that it is the best that I have ever eaten so thank you New York for this great classic.

Leave a Reply

