RSS Feed

Cookbook and Cornbread

I am enjoying the yard sale season and I always look for cookbooks at the sales.  You must have patience when you are a yard sale shopper and last weekend, I found a whole full of cookbooks.  My taste has become more discriminating and I rummaged through the books and found two old cookbooks.  Today I am sharing a recipe for cornbread from “The Cookery of Caldwell County Rare Recipes from 1776 to 1976.  This is obviously a bi-centennial cookbook and I have enjoyed reading through it.  The introduction to the book states that as our country celebrated it’s 200th birthday, the committee that created the book wanted to create a book of foods and cooking, past and present for Caldwell County, North Carolina.  Their hope in writing this book was that the reader would find something new, something old or something different that will add pleasure to their meals.

When I saw this recipe for cornbread, I knew I wanted to share it with you.  Cornbread is such a tradition in the South.  When I was first married, many years ago, I tried several times to make cornbread from scratch and it never came out right.  When I looked at this recipe I had this desire to try it again.  I have never made cornbread that included creamed corn and I am really curious as to how many ounces are in the small can of creamed corn referred to in the recipe.  I may just give it a try again soon and use this recipe.

Cornbread

one and one half cups of corn meal (self rising)

1 onion finely chopped

1 small can of creamed corn

1 egg

1/2 cup oil (corn oil)

1 cup milk (my grandmother and mother always used buttermilk in their cornbread)

Mix well and bake at 400 degrees for about 45 minutes or until brown.  This recipe was submitted by Mrs. W.L. Gregg Sr.

I am now enthused about trying to make cornbread again and this book has served it’s purpose with me.  Cornbread is great served with soup, beans or vegetables.  My grandmother would eat cornbread with and in a glass of milk for her supper.  She lived ot be 99 so it must be healthy.

Happy Monday Everyone

One response »

  1. I love old cookbooks! What a find. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

