RSS Feed

A Recipe From My Childhood – Peanut Butter Potato Candy

Last week, I found another old cookbook at a yard sale.  It is from a church in the nearby town of Morganton and is very special to me as it belonged to one of my longtime friends.  She was having a yard sale and I wanted one of her cookbooks for sure.  As I was browsing through the book, I discovered this recipe for peanut butter potato candy.  When I was young, this was something that I sampled many times that had been baked by neighbors or friends.  It is an easy recipe to make and I just had to share it with you.

This is the time of the year in the South when schools are having their end of the year parties and of course there are graduations.  This would be a great treat for one of those occasions and would be a tasty treat for a picnic.

Peanut Butter Potato Candy

1 medium size potato

1 box powdered sugar

1/2 cup peanut butter

Boil potato, take the skin off of it.  Mash the potato.  Mix powdered sugar with the mashed potato until the mixture is like dough.  Roll out the dough onto some reserved powdered sugar.  Spread peanut butter onto dough.  Roll up, jelly roll style, then slice.

This recipe was submitted by Reverend Roy Shehan and he was the minister of the church at the time of the publication of this cookbook.

Leave a Reply

