RSS Feed

Blackberry Cobbler – Makes My Mouth Water

I am focusing on Tennessee favorites this week and when I saw this recipe for Blackberry Cobbler it just made my mouth water.  That is absolutely my favorite cobbler and I remember going blackberry picking when I was young and the reward for that was a delicious cobbler.  Wild blackberries are so much better than cultivated blackberries but I will eat them either way.  There are some wild blackberry bushes near my neighborhood and I have been stalking them for ripeness which should happen soon. Today I am featuring a recipe submitted by Florence L. Costello of Chattanooga, Tennessee.  When I think of great comfort food, I will remember my visit to the beautiful city of Chattanooga.

Blackberry Cobbler

Filling

5 cups fresh blackberries

3/4 cup sugar

1 tablespoon cornstarch

1/8 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons butter or margarine

Wash berries thoroughly and drain well;  place in a square baking dish.  Combine 3/4 cup sugar, cornstarch, and salt; sprinkle mixture over berries.  Dot with the two tablespoons of butter.

Pastry recipe:

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup shortening

2 tablespoons cold water

Combine flour and salt.  Cut in shortening until mixture resembles coarse crumbs; sprinkle with water, and stir with a fork until mixture forms a ball.  Yield:  enough for one 9-inch cobbler

Roll prepared pastry out on a lightly floured surface into a 9 inch square; place over berries, sealing edges to sides of dish.  Cut slits in crust.  Brush crust with 1 tablespoon milk and sprinkle with 1 tablespoon sugar.  Bake at 425 degrees for 30 minutes or until crust is golden brown.  Serve with vanilla ice cream.  Yield  6 servings.

Berry pies are a reward for living in the hot humid South in the summertime!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

