RSS Feed

Yard Sale Find – Paula Deen Cookbook

I have never owned a Paula Deen Cookbook until last Saturday.  It was a discovery at a yard sale and even though I have seen them before, Saturday seemed to be the right time to purchase the book.  The title of the book is “The Lady & Sons, Too.”  I have read Paula’s biography and checked out her cookbooks at my local library.  If I want a truly traditional Southern recipe, I can go to Paula’s book and find what I am looking for.

Paula has received a lot of criticism recently because of her diabetes diagnosis.  She kept it a secret for two years and did not disclose it until she was ready to endorse a diabetic product.  If I have one thing about Paula that concerns me, it is her marketing of so many products including furniture, coffee and now health care products.  I usually visit Savannah once a year and Paula Deen products are all over the place.  At first it was only cookbooks and food products but now it seems to be just about everything including the Paula Deen tour of Savannah.  She is a native of Georgia and loves Savannah without a doubt but all of the marketing can be a little tiresome.

I have a friend that teases me and tells me I am the next Paula Deen.  That will never happen even though we are the same age.  I don’t want to be on TV and if I had one life long dream, it would be to publish a cookbook but I sort of do that with this blog.  I would never do what she does; however, I admire Paula Deen.  She was in a horrible situation after her divorce and needed to find income to raise her sons.  She thought of her strengths and worked hard and became successful.  In other words, she is a find a way, make a way, type of woman and there is nothing wrong with that.  My husband is diabetic but after his diagnosis he did not tell anyone for a very long time.  We all make mistakes in judgment and maybe Paula did but she has put Southern Cuisine on the map and is loved by many.

Here is her recipe for

The Best Crab Casserole

One 6 1/2 ounce can cdrabmeat, drained

1 cup mayonaise

1 cup soft breadcrumbs

3/4 cup half and half

6 hard boiled eggs; finely chopped

1/2 cup chopped onion

1/4 cup sliced stuffed green olives

2 tablespopons chopped fresh parsley

3/4 teaspoon salt

pinch of pepper

1/2 cup buttered soft breadcrumbs

Olive slices, for garnish

In a large bowl, break up the crabmeat in chunks.  Add the mayonnaise, soft breadcrumbs, half and half, eggs, onion, olives, parsley, salt and pepper and fold together.  Divide the mixture among greased individuals bakers or spoon it into a one quart casserole dish.  Top with the buttered breadcrumbs and bake at 350 degrees for 20 to 25 minutes.  Garnish with olive slices.

This casserole is served at The Lady & Sons Restaurant in Savannah.  Yes, I have eaten there and it is good authentic Southern cuisine.

2 responses »

  1. I have been enjoying your blogs on southern cooking. I have always liked Paula. I have copied many of her recipes. My friends tease me about Martha Steward and Paula Dean all the time. It is also really nice to find a good cook book at a yard sale or thrift shop. That is how I built my collection. I would still rather look for a recipe through a cook book than the internet because you get to glance at other recipes that give ideas for the next meal.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

