RSS Feed

Grilled Tomatoes

This summer the tomatoes are plentiful and tasty.  I haven’t been disappointed with any that I have purchased at the Farmers Market or given to me by friends.  I do know we can run out of ideas of how to prepare tomatoes when we have them in abundance.  This is a recipe that I started making a few years ago and my husband and I call it Pizza tomatoes because of the italian flavor when using basil as the herb for seasoning.  They are prepared on the grill and are easy to make.

Grilled Tomatoes

4 plum or small vine-ripe tomatoes, cut lengthwise in half

1/4 cup italian salad dressing

1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

2 Tbsp.  grated parmesan cheese

1 Tbsp  chopped herbs  (basil, chives and/or parsley)  We usually use just the basil.

Heat grill to medium-high heat.  Place tomatoes, cut-sides up, in greased 8 inch square foil pan.  Top with dressing and cheese.  Place pan on grate or grill; close lid.

GRILL 10 to 12 minuites or until cheeses are melted and bottoms of tomatoes are browned.

Sprinkle with herbs.

At one time, I subscribed to Kraft Foods magazine and I would receive a great quarterly magazine featuring their products and I think I copied this recipe from one of those magazines.  Kraft has a Tuscan Italian Dressing and that is the one I use with this recipe because it is a mild italian dressing.

Leave a Reply

