RSS Feed

Nectarine Ice Cream – That’s all I am Saying!!!!!!!!!

Before this blog evolved, we had a blog for our grandson when he lived in another country.  I started sharing my recipes on the blog and my friends encouraged me to start this blog.  I don’t want to duplicate recipes on this blog but I wanted to share this recipe with you because I enjoy it so much.  I shared this recipe on my previous blog and it includes one of my favorite summer fruits which is nectarines.  At one time in North Carolina, you could only get nectarines grown in California and I thought they were wonderful.  Now farmers and orchards in North Carolina have started growing nectarines and I am so glad.  They are just wonderful and they don’t have fuzz.  We visited an orchard on Saturday and bought the most luscious nectarines ever.

We made nectarine ice cream from this recipe I discovered on the internet. I did make some changes ot the recipe before putting it into my ice cream machine. I have really enjoyed our ice cream maker but at the same time, I have missed the old fashioned churned ice cream. This recipe is so much like the old fashioned ice cream that I intend to use the recipe again with different fruit.

Here is the recipe and I did use Splenda and could not tell the difference at all.

2 cups half and half

3/4 cup sugar but I used the equivalent amount of Splenda

1 1/2 cups mashed fresh nectarines (peeled)

1/ 1/2 teaspoons lemon juice

1 and 1/2 cups of 2 % milk

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/8 teaspoon almond extract

1/8 teaspoon salt

I peeled the nectarines, mashed them and mixed them with the lemon juice. I mixed all of the other ingredients together and added the nectarines. I put the combined ingredients in our ice cream maker. For some reason, the ice cream did run over during the process and it could have been because the nectarines were so juicy. However, the ice cream was delicious. It melts very fast and if you don’t like your ice cream soft, you probably want to plan to freeze it for a couple of hours before serving.

I think I like it more than my husband likes it but we were so happy to have a yummy ice cream that was good with 2% milk and Splenda. I am really glad he doesn’t like it quite as much as I do because it just means there is more for me. Actually, I think that is how he plans it, when he knows I like something so much, he will hold back from eating all of it so I can have more. How Sweet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

