RSS Feed

Sort Of Stir Fry Chicken

In a previous blog I said that I very seldom cook without a recipe.  As I have been cooking now for about 50 years, I know that I probably cook some things without a recipe and don’t even think about it.  This week as I prepared to write my blogs, I think I had writers block.  I could not think of anything that I was inspired to write about.  I just decided I was thinking and analyzing too much and I just went about my daily activities.  That is how this post was developed.  I made this dish that I call Chicken Stir Fry but it is just something I made up and I would never think of it as an official stir fry recipe.  I do have a recipe for Chicken Stir Fry that I make from time to time and my husband laughs at me when I make it because he thinks I look like I am on Iron Chef on the Food Channel.

My husband works in the morning and I work in the afternoon.  I get off work at 6 PM.  The last thing I want to think about is what we will eat for our dinner meal.  I will start something and leave instructions for my husband on the final preparation of the meal before I leave for work.  I am very lucky to have him to help with finishing up the meal.  My reward is having a meal prepared and ready for me when I get home close to 6:30 each night.

Today, I decided we would have this stir fry chicken recipe tonight.  I have made it many different times and I sometimes make it with the Hilshire Farm smoked sausage instead of chicken.

Sort of Stir Fry Chicken

3/4 to 1 pound chicken breast, cut into bite size pieces

2 tablespoons olive oil

3 cloves of garlic chopped

2 colored sweet peppers, sliced

1 onion, sliced

1/2 cup chicken broth

1 to 2 tablespoon teriyaki sauce  (depends on personal taste)

1/2 teaspoon poultry seasoning

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1/2 cup water – optional

Cook the chopped garlic in the olive oil for two minutes or until browned on medium high heat.

Reduce the heat to medium and add the chicken breast cut into bite size pieces.

Stir the chicken until brown on all sides, reduce the heat to low, add the chicken broth and poultry seasoning and cook until the chicken is tender, 3 0r 4 minutes

Add the black pepper, teriyaki sauce and water.

Add the peppers and onions.  Cover and cook on low until the vegetables are steamed.  After the peppers and onion are tender, you may want to add a little more water if your broth has reduced too much. I purposely left salt out of this recipe as we have decreased our salt intake and I thought it might be too salty with the Teriyaki Sauce.

This is served with brown rice that has been prepared to serve two people.  This is a good recipe for my diabetic husband because it includes so many vegetables and a small amount of goods carbs with the brown rice.  The chicken breast that I used in my recipe weighed 3/4 pound and I had one small serving left over for lunch tomorrow.

2 responses »

  1. It is nice that your husband helps with the preparation of your evening meal. Your sort of stir fry sounds a perfect dinner…fast to put together.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

