RSS Feed

Peach Salsa and Lisa Marie

This past weekend we had friends over for our dinner meal on Saturday Night.  I decided to go with a Mexican theme.  I was reading an article by Bobby Flay in a recent magazine and he said it is good to have a theme for a meal.  I decided to try that over the weekend.  My inspiration for Mexican was a recipe I saw on Our State Magazine’s website for Peach Salsa.  I thought it seemed very interesting and wanted to try it.  It was a hit as an appetizer for our meal and you know howI  am trying to improve my appetizer skills if you have been reading my blog.

This was easy to make and I prepared my recipe the day before so the flavors would blend well before serving.

Peach Salsa

1 pound peaches, chopped (  I peeled my peaches even though that isn’t specified in the recipe)

1 small vine ripened tomato, chopped

3-4 green onions, chopped, including part of the green

2 tablespoons pickled jalapenos, chopped

1 and 1/2 tablespoons fresh cilantro, chopped

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

1 tablespoon lime juice

1 tablespoon honey

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper

Mix all the ingredients in a large bowl and refrigerate.  Can be kept for 3 days in a tighly covered container.  I served my salsa with tortilla chips and corn chips and it was really tasty with just enough heat to be tasty but not overpowering.

Now, you may be thinking who is Lisa Marie?  Lisa Marie is the daughter of the late great Elvis Presley.  I was reading an article about her the other day and yes I was a big Elvis fan and his music just never grows old.  She talked about how mixed her childhood was living part of it in Memphis with her dad and part of it living in California with her Mother.  Then she said that in the South we fry everything.  I totally disagree with that and if she would have fine tuned that statement a little, I would agree with her.  During my childhood, I do think my Mother and Grandmother fried everything but the Southern cooks of today do not. My Southern friends bake, broil, grill and fry.

I will talk about frying in another post later in the week as I share another recipe from the weekend.  It will be living proof that Southern cooks don’t fry everything anymore.  Happy Monday Everyone!

4 responses »

  1. The Salsa looks marvelous! When I fry I fry in Extra Virgin Olive Oil……….remember Olives are a fruit and this oil is sooooooooooooooo much healthier than any others. I also have a recipe blog if you want to check it out…………. http://www.Chef-Emil.com

    Reply
  2. That does look good. I’m guessing it gets even better if you leave it in the fridge for a bit :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

