RSS Feed

Stuffed Green Peppers With Rice

My husband loves stuffed green peppers and I usually make them for him in the summertime when fresh green peppers are prevalent.  When we were first married over 40 years ago, I was clueless as far as how to make stuffed peppers.  I followed different recipes and my kind husband always told me he enjoyed them.  I never felt that confident making them and probably one reason for that is the fact that I only make them about once a year.  I do not like the green peppers that are available in the grocery stores in the winter time.  The skin of the peppers is very thick and the peppers seem to contain lots of water.  On Saturday I had planned on making another stove top recipe but I purchased fresh peppers at the farmers market and changed my plans.  One day last week when I came home from work my husband had cooked instant brown rice for our dinner meal.  We were having leftovers from the weekend before and did not need the rice. I put it in the fridge and had it in the back of my mind for a filler for my green peppers.  This is how I prepared the stuffed peppers and I think they were the best I have ever made and my husband LOVED them.

Stuffed Green Peppers

Stuffed Green Peppers

4 or 5 Green Peppers (Peppers that are flat on the bottom and will stand on their own work best for this recipe but you can trim the bottom of peppers evenly so they will stand up

1 pound of ground beef

2 cups of cooked instant brown rice

1/2 cup onion

3 cloves of garlic, chopped

1/2 to 1 teaspoon of salt

1/2 teaspoon of pepper

1 to 2 teaspoons of olive oil

1 8 ounce can of tomato sauce

1 6 ounce can of tomato paste

1/2 to 1 cup of water

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Brown the hamburger in a medium size skillet and drain off the fat.  Wipe the pan with a paper towel to remove excess grease.  Put the olive oil into the pan and add the chopped garlic and cook until brown, about 2 minutes.  Add the onion and continue to cook until translucent.

Add the hamburger, tomato sauce and paste, pepper and salt.  Mix well, add the cooked rice and let simmer for about 10 minutes.  If the sauce is too thick you may add from 1/2 to 1 cup of water. I usually add about 1/2 cup of water.  While this is simmering you will prepare you peppers.

NOTE:  In many previous recipes I have used for this dish, you place the peppers in boiling water on the stove for a few minutes and I would cook mine too long and the peppers would be limp.

To prepare my peppers, I placed them in a shallow dish with 1/2 cup of water and put them in the microwave for 8 minutes.  The cooking time will depend upon the size of your peppers and how done you want them to be.

I removed them from the microwave and from the pan and let them sit on paper towels for a few minutes.  I returned them to the pan and stuffed them with the filling.

I placed them in the oven and they cooked for 15 minutes.  I think the recommended time for cooking could be from 15 to 30 minutes and it depends on whether you like peppers with a little body to them or you like squishy peppers.

I was very pleased to find an alternate way of preparing the peppers for the filling. This is a great recipe for a diabetic as it includes vegetables and brown rice.  I was happy to be able to use the fresh green peppers that are so plentiful this time of year and now I am thinking about Green Pepper Jelly.  YUM!!!!!!!!

 

4 responses »

  1. I am with you about stuffed bell peppers……….not my favorite. I do stuff them with a mixture of the meat and rice and like it also. I really like your idea of Green Pepper Jelly. Here is a recipe that looks like a good place to start http://www.theqjoint.com/forum/showthread.php?4850-Sugar-Free-Pepper-Jelly it is sugar free……………I know you can make it better!

    Reply
  2. I have been craving stuffed peppers for a while now. I am going to have to give this recipe a try. I think my husband will love this recipe. :) Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

