RSS Feed

Traditional Lasagna

When I was first married almost 42 years ago, I wanted to learn to make classic dishes in a traditional way.  I read a magazine article that included classic recipes and that is where I got the recipe I am sharing with you today.  I also found my carrot cake recipe in the same article.  I have used this lasagna recipe many times and I love the taste of it.  It will serve 6 people with generous portions and if you have a small family and want to freeze it, it freezes well.

This recipe can be labor intensive but it is well worth the time that is spent on preparing the dish.  The meat sauce is easy to prepare but it does have to simmer for one and one half hours and I sometimes make this sauce ahead and freeze it.  I will then defrost it on the day I am preparing the lasagna.  I have also prepared the completed dish and cooked it for about 30 minutes and then refrigerate it for 24 hours.  I then take it out of the fridge and let it get to room temperature and let it cook for about 15 minutes or until completely heated.

TRAD lasagna

When I prepared this recipe over the weekend, I decided to make two layers of noodles, sauce,  cottage cheese and mozzarella cheese. The last layer was noodles, the remaining meat sauce and the shredded parmesan cheese.  This covered the noodles completely and made the lasagna more cheesy.

Leave a Reply

