RSS Feed

Junk Pudding – A Sugar Free Dessert

Over the past weekend, I prepared food for our family that was visiting.  I prepared Ina Garten’s baked chocolate pudding.  My husband said he was fine with just eating sugar free ice cream that I had purchased.  However, I just felt that wasn’t fair to him and decided I needed to prepare a dessert for him.  I purchased sugar free cheesecake pudding mix when I did my weekly shopping.  I knew I had a can of crushed pineapple in it’s own juice and I could incorporate that into his dessert.  I then came home and searched through the cabinet and fridge for the other ingredients included in this dessert.  If I was making it again, I would add more nuts for texture.  He liked the dessert and I was trying to think of a name for it and I just called it junk pudding because I added small amounts of ingredients that I had stored in the fridge or pantry.

Here is what I did.

Junk Pudding

1 package of Jello sugar free cheesecake pudding

1/2 cup of chopped walnuts

1/2 cup of coconut

1/2 cup of sliced marashino cheeries

1 15 ounce can of crushed pineapple drained

1 cup of cool whip  (sugar free or regular)

1/4 cup of sour cream

Place the pudding mix in a medium size bowl.  Add the walnuts, coconut, cheeries and drained pineapple and mix well.  Fold in the sour cream and cool whip.  Chill and serve.

You can adjust any of the above items as far as taste is concerned and you could add the pineapple without draining it.  Even though this was pineapple in it’s own juice I thought that might be to much  juice for a diabetic.

Also, go to the Food Network website and Ina’s Chocolate Pudding recipe is listed as Ina Garten’s Brownie Pudding Recipe.  It is just awesome.

Leave a Reply

