RSS Feed

Easy Strawberry Sauce

At first, I thought this was the wrong time of year to have a recipe for strawberry sauce, however, here in this part of the US strawberries are available all year long.  Over the weekend I realized I had a few frozen strawberries in the freezer.  My husband loves fruit cobblers and pies and my first thought was to make him a cobbler.  However, he is currently having challenges with his blood sugar level and we decided that would not be good.  I remembered the healthified cinnamon bread I made last week and I had some of it in the freezer.  I asked him if he would like a slice of that bread with some strawberry sauce.  He loves cinnamon bread and agreed that would be a great dessert.  I thawed the bread and sliced a small portion for him.  I then made the strawberry sauce as follows:

Easy Strawberry Sauce

2 cups of frozen strawberries  (thawed slightly)

2 tablespoons of regular splenda or an equivalent amount of sugar

1 tablespoon of cornstarch

I placed the strawberries in a medium sized saucepan and added the Splenda.  I turned the burner on to medium heat and stirred the strawberries until completely thawed.  I did not slice the berries but left them whole.  When they were completely heated I prepared the corn starch.  I placed one tablespoon of cornstarch in a small amount of water and stirred with a fork until it was smooth.  In the meantime, I turned the burner off on the stove and let the berries cool slightly.  After the cornstarch was smooth, I stirred it into the strawberries, turned the burner on to medium and stirred it constantly until it came to a boil.  I let it boil for one minute and it was completely thickened.

Believe it or not, I never even tried to make any type of sauce until a few years ago and now it seems so easy.  This week for some reason, I just want to think about easy dishes.  By the way, you could substitute just about any berry for the strawberreis and it would work.

I served the cinnamon bread with the strawberry sauce and cool whip topping.  There was enough berries left for my husband to have another dessert of strawberries and cool whip.

6 responses »

  1. Simple and good. Makes me think of crepes rolled up with this inside and a dab of unsweeten whipped cream on top.

    Reply
  2. Did you bake the cinnamon bread?

    Reply
  3. I found a can of canned strawberries at the Dollar Store. I bought them because of your recipe. I have never seen canned strawberries before. This should be interesting when I open them up. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

