RSS Feed

Easy Spaghetti Sauce

This time of year when the days are cooler, I think spaghetti with tomato sauce is a great dish.  I do make my spaghetti sauce from scratch most of the time.  If I am short on time, I will buy a sauce and add something fresh to the sauce to amp up the flavor a little.  I did that this week and we had whole wheat spaghetti with the prepared sauce.  I added a red bell pepper to the sauce and some fresh garlic to give it more flavor.

Here is how I did it:

First of all, I chopped two cloves of garlic and browned it in about a tablespoon of olive oil in a saucepan.

I chopped one red pepper in large chunks and added it to the olive oil and garlic and let it cook on low for a few minutes.

I added the jar of prepared sauce that I purchased at Aldi and it was their four cheese sauce.  I let it simmer for about 1o minutes and the sauce was ready.

The red pepper just gives the sauce a special flavor and made the sauce more tasty.

I left a box of our wheat pasta out for my husband to prepare and have our evening meal waiting for me when I returned from work that evening.  I prepared a salad to accompany the meal before I left for work so all he had to do was put it on the salad plate.

We make a great team.    Happy Friday Everyone!

Leave a Reply

