RSS Feed

Let’s Have Some Beef Barley Soup

I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday weekend here in the states.  It has turned very cold in North Carolina and I thought a great way to start a new week is with a soup recipe.  My husband always loved the cans of beef barley soup that you can purchase in the store.  That peaked my interest in trying to find a recipe for the soup and I tried several different ones and came up with this final version.  We enjoy it in the winter months and this recipe makes enough of the soup for us to have it for two meals.  I think that is a great bonus, especially during the holidays.  Last week, I was going to be late one night as I had a training session after my work day ended at 6 pm so I made this in the crockpot and my husband had it for his meal and then I ate some when I finally arrived for the evening.  I had never made it in the crockpot before but it turned out well and that is another great timesaver during this time of the year.

My Beef Barley Soup

1 to 1 and 1/2 pounds of stew beef

4 cups water

1/2 cup rough chopped onions

1/2 cup sliced carrots

1 can undrained stewed tomatoes

2 beef bouillon cubes

1 bay leaf

1 can drained limas

1 teaspoon Tony Cacheas seasoning

1/2 teaspoon basil

1/2 cup barley

Brown the stew beef in a sauce pan.  place in the crockpot.  Add all of the ingredients  to the crockpot except for the 1/2 cup of barley. Cook on high for 4 hours or on low for 8 hours.  During the last 30 minutes of the cooking time add the 1/2 cup of barley and it will thicken the soup. You may want to add more water to the soup after adding the barley if it is too thick for your taste.

Remove the bay leaf before serving.

Happy Monday Everyone!

4 responses »

  1. I just love barley soup and haven’t had any in a long time. Thanks for sharing this great recipe. It’s just the perfect soup for this time of the year!

    Reply
  2. I LOVE the rich creamy texture and flavour of beef barley soup.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

