RSS Feed

Thanksgiving Leftover and Chicken Noodle Soup

Special Note:  When I created this blog, I wanted to give everyone glimpses of the South and my passion for food is a great part of my passion for the South.  If you are a new reader, I post to my blog consistently on Monday, Wednesday and Friday.  It is my intention to keep that schedule and include food in the posts for all my foodie friends.  However, on Saturday of each week, I will share with you three reasons why I am so glad I am Southern.  It will include other projects or interests I have at the moment so starting tomorrow I will post my Southern reasons and loves. Happy Weekend everyone and thanks for reading my blog!

I try not to be wasteful in my food preparation and usually do not have many leftovers to throw away after Thanksgiving.  We always have the Thanksgiving leftovers for lunch on the Sunday after Thanksgiving.  I incorpoate the other dishes into our regular meal planning for the week.  I always make too much potato salad so it is usually thrown out.  When I was putting the leftovers away I saw the chicken carcass did not have much meat on it and I thought it would be good to cook it and use the broth.  Then I expanded on that idea and thought I would make chicken noodle soup.

I am not a big fan of chicken noodle soup and I think that might explain why I am not a big fan of chicken and dumplings.  I love chicken pot pie and all the wonderful versatile chicken dishes.  My husband loves chicken noodle soup so I thought I would just give it a try.  When I am looking for a way to prepare a dish, the first thing I do is browse through my cookbooks and they all seemed to start with chicken broth and chicken breasts.  I thought my chicken carcass would be a good substitue.  I used my largest size bowl from my crockpot ( I have 3 bowl sizes for my crockpot) and put the carcass in it and added a carrot, a stalk of celery and an onion. I added the seasonings of salt, pepper and poultry seasoning to the pot. I covered the carcass with water and cooked the combination for about 8 hours on low.

Then, I removed the chicken carcass and pulled the meat from the carcass and added it to the broth that I had drained.  I also added the vegetables that had been cooking in the broth.  I had 10 cups of broth from the crockpot. I used the whole grain wide egg noodles in the soup.  I placed eight cups of strained broth in a large pot and added the chicken, vegetables and seasonings and let it come to a boil.  Then I added 1/2 package of egg noodles to the soup.  It was very tasty even for me and I think I will try it again.  I liked the richness of it and I have eaten soup before that had no taste at all.

Chicken Noodle Soup

1 chicken carcass or you can substitute chicken breast either with bone in or boneless

1 carrot peeled and cut into slices

1 onion peeled and sliced

1 stalk of celery, sliced

1 teaspoon of poultry seasoning

1 to 2 teaspoons of salt

1/2 to 1 teaspoon of pepper

1/2 12 ounce bag of wide egg noodles

Cook chicken or chicken carcass in boiling water with onion, celery, poultry seasoning, salt and pepper.  When chicken is done, strain and reserve broth and pick the chicken off the carcass or cut it into bite size pieces.  If you are using the carcass, be sure to check the broth and reserved vegetables for small bones.  Place the reserved broth in a large pot and with the cooked chicken and vegetables.  Let mixture come to a boil and then add the noodles and cook according to directions. Add more salt and pepper to the mixture if desired.

This will make approximately 8 one cup servings of the soup.

This was actually so easy that I may adapt my crockpot to more of my soup recipes.  Enjoy and Happy Weekend Everyone!

Leave a Reply

