RSS Feed

Christmas, Granny and Coconut Cake

During the Christmas holidays I think we reflect on our relationships and friends, both old and new.  I do appreciate the people that read my blog and appreciate the consistent contacts I have made with fellow bloggers throughout the year.  Today, I am sharing something extra special with you, my Grandmother’s coconut cake recipe.  I remember how great this cake was from my childhood and also the fact that my Grandmother would bake one for me every year at Christmas until she got to the point that she couldn’t bake anymore.  My name for my Grandmother was Granny and she died at the age of 99 on Decemer 21, 1997.

To this day, I love and miss her and every Christmas my mind goes to that wonderful coconut cake.  You have to be special people for me to share such a special recipe from such a special Granny.

Granny’s Coconut Cake

1 cup shortening

2 cups sugar

4 eggs

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

2 and 1/2 cups of cake flour

1 cup buttermilk

1 teaspoon vanilla

Cream sugar and shortening.  Add eggs, one at a time. Sift together the salt, soda and flour.  Add milk and flour combination alternately, beginning and ending with flour combination.  Add vanilla.  Put in three eight inch cake pans that have been greased and floured. Bake at 350 for approximately 25 minutes or until tests done in the center.

Filling:

1 can of evaporated milk (not small can)

1 cup sugar

3 cups coconut

1 teaspoon vanilla

Put milk and sugar in pot on stove and let come to a boil.  Stir in 3 cups of coconut.  Cool.  Add one teaspoon vanilla.  Let cool and place between completely cooled layers and cover top of cake with filling.

It is optional to frost the cake with a seven minute frosting but I really like it without the frosting.  The cake will be extremely moist and is not the most beautiful coconut cake I have ever seen but it is the best tasting coconut cake I have ever tasted.  When browsing through cookbooks I have never seen a recipe similar to this and when I serve it to people they are amazed and absolutely love it.

I couldn’t do a Christmas post without thinking about my Granny.  I love and miss you everyday and now for sure her wonderful coconut cake will be loved and enjoyed by many.

Merry Christmas Everyone and thanks for keeping me connected to the world and helping me to keep Southern traditions alive!

5 responses »

  1. I do believe your Granny and my Oma must have been friends and shared this recipe. How wonderful that she lived to be 99! I only had one grandparent that was alive after I was born and that was my Oma, who taught me so many, many things about life, and most importantly about proper cooking and baking. Thank you for sharing her beautiful recipe and keeping her with us during this Holiday Season!

    Reply
    • They do sounds so similar and they taught us so many things. I cried as I wrote this and now when I read it, I still cry. Not so much sadness but happiness that I had such a special Granny. I do believe she is with us and especially at Christmas. As always, thanks for your comments. Happy Holidays!!!!!!!

      ________________________________

      Reply
      • Dianne…this must be a Granny day for us. I was out on the garage this afternoon going through some stuff and came across a box of her “treasures” and just sat there and boo-hooed. I still miss her too. I talk to Spencer about her all the time. I want him to know as much as I can share with him about this sweet and wonderful woman. She was so dear, so very, very dear.

      • I always think of Granny more near Christmas and the anniversary of her passing, December 21. She was a very dear person and I am glad you are able to pass our family heritage on to your grandson.

        ________________________________

  2. Pingback: Three Great Cake Choices For Christmas | So Does That Mean I'm SOUTHERN?

Leave a Reply

