RSS Feed

Camp Stew – An Easy Weekend Recipe

Do you have a busy weekend ahead of you and still need a quick recipe that the family will enjoy.  I think the one I am sharing with you today would be a great choice.  It is similar to spaghetti but you can use small portions of different ingredients that you may already have.

A friend I worked with about 40 years ago shared this recipe with me.  She had been camping with some friends and they made this on their camping trip.  I can see how this would be an easy meal if you had the prepared ingredients with you and just put them all together at the campsite.

1/2 pound of ground beef or chopped corn beef

onion or green pepper to taste

8 oz of tomato sauce

1 one pound can of kidney beans

2 oz of macaroni cooked

salt and pepper,  1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder or a crushed garlic clove and 1 tsp of chili powder

parmesan cheese

Cook the macaroni and drain. Brown the ground beef in a large pan.  I use a pound of hamburger instead of 1/2 pound and I have used the 10% and the 20% so it can be either one that you prefer.  I always drain off the excess fat.  Add the chopped onion and green pepper which I have expanded in my recipe to 1/2 an onion and 1/2 a green pepper of average size.  Add the tomato sauce and I add 2 cans to mine instead of one just to increase the amount of vegtables in the stew.  Drain the cooked macaroni and add it to the stew along with salt, pepper, garlic and 1 teaspoon of chili powder.

Simmer for 10 minutes and serve with the parmesan cheese.  This is an easy recipe to make and the leftovers are good for another meal and can be frozen. This would make four servings and is great with a side salad.  Children usually enjoy this meal because they like macaroni and it is also good for a diabetic because it contains a small amount of macaroni and kidney beans which have a lot of fiber.

I am hoping this weekend we will see the sun here in North Carolina.  It has rained everyday and I know we have needed rain but a little sunshine would be appreciated.  I hope you enjoy your weekend and are able to try this recipe soon.  Happy Friday Everyone!

Leave a Reply

