RSS Feed

So Iv’e Been Thinking – About Giving Thanks

I am very happy to say farewell to the month of January.  I am not a winter person.  I am a summer person and have always been happy to see January pass as I am closer to the wonderful summer months.  With the loss of our precious pet and other family challenges, this January has been a little sadder and more discouraging.  I think when you have those challenges you reach deep inside yourself and see things in a different perspective.

So, I have been thinking and my husband hates it when I start a sentence that way.  Second after cooking, is my love for fixing up my house and usually when I start with those words to him he thinks we are going to do a project.  I recently read an article about gratitude and how that helps our well being.  I just think with age becomes thankfulness and gratitude, as we have experienced so many things, that we value the good things in life and our experiences so much more. The article suggested a gratitude journal and my first thought was to use this blog as I feel it is really an expression of so many parts of my life.

I usually don’t post on Thursday but I thought that it might be good to have Thursday as thankful day.  I could list things I am thankful for and encourage you, my readers, to respond with what you are thankful for too.

According to the article in the February issue of the Good Housekeeping Magazine, “Two Little Words.” people who document what they’re thankful for reap a host of health and emotional benefits.  Here is a link to the UC Berkeley’s Greater Good website http://greatergood.berkeley.edu/.

Today I am thankful for:

Tthe wonderful life our sweet dog, Dinky, had and the wonderful joy he brought for us.

I am thankful that I have a friend to have breakfast with once a month.

I am thankful for the young people that I work with that love me, respect me and accept a  little old lady like me.

Now it’s your turn, let me know what you think.  I will try this for a while and see how things go.  Every time I write a post I can always say sincerely how grateful I am for the people that read it and keep me connected to this great big world we live in.

2 responses »

  1. I am thankful for living long enough to see social change with more equality for all citizens.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

