RSS Feed

Hometown Cooks – Potato and Onion Pancakes

I moved to this area of North Carolina because my husband was transferred here from the Charlotte area of North Carolina in 1976.  I did not like it here at all when I first moved here but we purchased a home in our current town in 1978 and I immediately liked this area of the foothills.  I think one of my favorite things about this town is how friendly and nice the people are that live here.  I know the South is known for our hospitality and friendliness but I can honestly say that some of us are more friendly than others.

This time of year, I think of hearty recipes that seem to soothe the coldness outside.  We are lucky that the temperatures will be in the 60’s here for the next couple of days and I am really thankful for that.  As I was scanning through my hometown cookbooks for this weeks posts, I saw this recipe for the Potato and Onion Pancakes and thought it would really hit the spon on a cold day. Even though the recipe recommends use of a heavy skillet, I think you could use a griddle if you have one.  That is how I prepare my pancakes now and it makes it so much easier as you can make so many of them at one time.  It also helps to keep the temperature even while cooking them when you use an electric griddle.   I do realize the first recipe on this page is for confetti rice and then the recipe for the potato and onion pancakes.  I thought both of them were a bit unusual and interesting.

potato pancakes

These recipes are in honor of the Conover Police Department and I purchased it from a very dear friend that was having a yard sale last summer.  The recipes were compiled by the Ladies Auxiliary and the cookbook was published in 1988.

2 responses »

  1. ahhhhhhhhh………Kartoffelpuffer (potato pancakes) one of my fav dishes……you see the Tin Man is quite German. At our Oktober Fest each year hundreds of thousands of these are sold. I just love them with some apfelmus (applesauce). Now you have made me hungry.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

