RSS Feed

Mrs. Wilkes Punch Bowl Cake

As I was considering things I wanted to prepare for the Christmas season, this recipe came to mind.  I have made it one time for a barbecue or cook-out, as we say in the South, for a large group of people.  It is a dish that is good when it is eaten right away but I do remember preparing mine earlier in the day and keeping it refrigerated until the time I served it.  As you layer it into a punch bowl or large glass dish, when you start to serve it, the layers run together.

mrs wilkes punch bowl cake

This recipe is from Mrs. Wilkes Boarding House Famous Recipes.  I did not use the brandy in my preparation and it was still attractive and delicious.

Happy Friday Everyone!

2 responses »

  1. http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/English-Trifle-4/Detail.aspx
    Here is the original recipe! I bet Mrs. WIlkes got this from an old cookbook.
    I made this about a month ago and it was delicious! I love Mrs. WIlkes Boarding House and own one of her autographed cookbooks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

